Visible: Out Of Television (2020) – I’m Coming Out

NOTE: Here is my review from Soda & Telepaths that was posted back on June 25th, 2020

The history of television is remarkably short when you actually think about it, if we go by the first demonstration of TV’s back in 1926 then TV is barely even 100 years old… and that’s if we go by when someone first proved that you could beam an image of a face over the airwaves in a way that was recognizably a face, the medium doesn’t even truly start existing in a mainstream way until the 1950s. To put it in perspective, TV is recent enough that Betty White has been on it since TV was 10 years old. (EDIT: RIP Betty White) 

Continue reading “Visible: Out Of Television (2020) – I’m Coming Out”

Hotel Transylvania: Transformania (2022) – Ehhh

Released: 14th January
Seen: 14th January

Hotel Transylvania Transformania Info

Hotel Transylvania has never exactly been the most memorable franchise. It exists and does its job as a piece of family-friendly entertainment but it’s not a film series that really seems to get much discussion surrounding it, despite them being pretty big hits at the box office. The first three films were fairly huge box office hits and you would have expected that for the 4th entry but nope, Hotel Transylvania: Transformania got thrown on Prime Video to open up 2022. Allegedly this is the final entry in the franchise and to be honest, I can see why since it’s definitely run out of juice at this point.

Continue reading “Hotel Transylvania: Transformania (2022) – Ehhh”

Gary Busey Pet Judge (2020) – PET JUSTICE!

NOTE: Here is my review from Soda & Telepaths that was posted back on June 9th, 2020

On April 23rd 2013, the world was introduced to the most glorious combination of words that has ever existed… Mechanical Dog. On an episode of All-Star Celebrity Apprentice, Gary Busey tried to sell LG Smart Home & Home Entertainment products with an advert that involved Gary turning into a mechanical dog. It is my firm belief that the footage of Gary Busey barking randomly while trying to sell electrical appliances created a spark that would inevitably lead to a show with the greatest title of all time. GARY BUSEY PET JUDGE!

Continue reading “Gary Busey Pet Judge (2020) – PET JUSTICE!”

HOLLYWOOD (2020) – Hooray For Hollywood

NOTE: Here is my review from Soda & Telepaths that was posted back on May 2, 2020

In 1985, during the height of the AIDS crisis, Hollywood heartthrob Rock Hudson became the first celebrity known to have the illness. This let the public know the secret that had been going around Hollywood for quite some time… Rock Hudson, star of stage and screen since the 1950s, was gay and had been hiding that his entire life.

What if he’d never had to hide? 

What if he’d been able to walk down the red carpet holding the hand of another man? What if there wasn’t a 26-year gap between Hattie McDaniel and Sidney Poitier winning Oscars as black performers? What if Anna May Wong actually got her due respect?! Hollywood gives us those what-ifs and then some and it turns out that it would have been great.

Continue reading “HOLLYWOOD (2020) – Hooray For Hollywood”

BLOOD QUANTUM (2020) – An Important And Extremely Entertaining Shudder Exclusive

NOTE: Here is my review from Soda & Telepaths that was posted back on April 30, 2020

Zombies, one of the most overused creatures in media today. If you name a genre then sure enough, there’ll be a zombie-filled version of it somewhere. There are zombie romance films, zombie westerns, hell a little over a week ago I was watching a Disney zombie musical that was popular enough to warrant a sequel. Zombies are everywhere and everyone uses them but sometimes they get used for something special. Every now and then a zombie property breaks out from the bonds of the genre to actually be something special. Blood Quantum is one of those movies.

Continue reading “BLOOD QUANTUM (2020) – An Important And Extremely Entertaining Shudder Exclusive”

Defending Jacob: Season 1 (2020) – Chris Evans’ Long-Awaited Return To Television

NOTE: Here is my review from Soda & Telepaths that was posted back on April 27, 2020. It was a review of the first 3 episodes of Defending Jacob, I have yet to complete it (because Apple+ was so bad guys… so bad!)

Chris Evans has had what you might call a monster of a year. He starred in Avengers: Endgame AKA the biggest movie of 2019, followed that up with critical acclaim in Knives Out and has now well and truly broken away from his image as Captain America with his brand new series Defending Jacob on Apple+, a streaming service that no one likes… but they might want to give it a shot for this series. 

One quick note before we begin, I’m basing this review on the three episodes that were available on April 24th. A new episode will be released weekly, anything said here is based on the opening trilogy of episodes so take that for what it’s worth.

Continue reading “Defending Jacob: Season 1 (2020) – Chris Evans’ Long-Awaited Return To Television”

THE BIG SHOW SHOW: SEASON 1 (2020) – It’s a good show show

NOTE: Here is my review from Soda & Telepaths that was posted back on April 16, 2020

I have a theory. It’s a simplistic theory, it’s a bad theory, but it’s a theory. Every single wrestler who tries acting will, at some point, make an average-or-worse children’s film. Hulk Hogan basically made a career out of them in the 90s, The Rock did a whole bunch of bad kids films in the 2000s, John Cena recently joined the club with Playing With Fire and so did Dave Bautista with My Spy. If you can name any other bad kids films by wrestlers, please do so in the comments.

Continue reading “THE BIG SHOW SHOW: SEASON 1 (2020) – It’s a good show show”

LOCKE & KEY: SEASON 1 (2020) – Great For Locke Down!

NOTE: Here is my review from Soda & Telepaths that was posted back on April 15th, 2020.

In 2008 IDW Publishing released the first issue of Locke & Key by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodríguez. The book gained a cult following pretty quickly and was actually optioned to be a TV series back in 2011. They even shot a pilot for Fox TV which would’ve starred, not kidding, Jesse McCartney AKA that kid who sang Beautiful Soul (I don’t know why this amuses me, I thought I’d share that info anyway). 

Continue reading “LOCKE & KEY: SEASON 1 (2020) – Great For Locke Down!”

October Faction: Season 1 (2020) – Thinking of watching it? Don’t.

NOTE: Here is my review from Soda & Telepaths that was posted back on April 1st, 2020.

In 2015, IDW Publishing released the first volume of The October Faction, a series that revolved around retired monster-hunter Frederick Allen and his family. Netflix, always hungry for content, scooped up the rights for this comic and decided to make it into a Netflix original series… a series that they dropped on the 23rd of January and I suspect you heard nothing else about it because it didn’t catch anyone’s attention. Turns out there’s a reason for that… It’s genuinely one of the worst shows on Netflix.

Continue reading “October Faction: Season 1 (2020) – Thinking of watching it? Don’t.”